Pak Test squad for against South Africa selected


—File Photo

LAHORE: Opening batsman Shan Masood and pacer Muhammad Amir made come back in the Pakistan test squad named here on Friday for three test math series against South Africa in South Africa.

“Three openers (Iman ul Haq, Fakhar Zaman and Shan) have been selected in the squad, Shan has been selected after the retirement of Mohammad Hafeez from Test cricket”, said Chief selector Inzamam ul Haq.

He said Amir makes a comeback in the team after regaining his form in the domestic cricket, giving strength to fast bowling attack that

includes four pace bowlers. Mohammad Rizwan has been included in thesquad after performing consistently in the domestic cricket and for Pakistan ‘A’, he added.

The 16-member squad was selected by the national selection committee in consultation with Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Head Coach Mickey Arthur.

The first Test match of the three-match series will be played at Centurion from December 26 to 30. The second Test match will be played at Cape Town from January 3 to 7, 2019. The third and final Test match of the series will be played at Johannesburg from January 11 to 15, 2019.

“The best possible squad has been selected keeping in mind the conditions of South Africa”, said the chief selector.

The squad is Imam ul Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmad, Captain, WK, Muhammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Abbas, Hassan Ali, Muhammad Amir, Faheem Ashraf and Shaheen Shah Afridi.—APP