Aaj TV News

BR100 4,855 Increased By ▲ 19 (0.39%)
BR30 24,780 Increased By ▲ 335 (1.37%)
KSE100 45,903 Increased By ▲ 177 (0.39%)
KSE30 19,153 Increased By ▲ 133 (0.7%)

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Khalid Khurshid on Tuesday has taken oath as Gilgit-Baltistan Chief Minister in a ceremony held at the Governor house. The oath was administered by Governor Raja Jalal Hussain Maqpoon.

Khalid Khurshid was elected as Gilgit-Baltistan CM on Monday night after he secured 22 votes while his opponent Amjad Hussain Advocate of PPP received nine votes.

By gaining the majority vote, Khurshid has become the third chief minister of the region after Syed Mehdi Shah of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Hafiz Hafeezur Rehman of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

Khurshid joined PTI in 2018 and was elected as party president for Diamer Division. He was elected to the legislative assembly from GBA 13 Astor-1 constituency in the November 15 election.