Aaj.tv Logo

Pakistani cricket enthusiasts on Monday celebrated the domination of the Pakistani cricket players in the International Cricket Council (ICC) award for 2021.

Fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi won the men’s cricketer of the year award, while Pakistan’s team captain Babar Azam and his batsman and wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan were named the ODI and T20I cricketers of the year respectively.

Fatima Sana of Pakistan’s women’s cricket team was declared the women’s cricketer of the year.

Pakistani cricket fans are ecstatic and PCB chairman Ramiz Raja termed this “a new beginning” for Pakistani cricket.

Former cricketer Wasim Akram mirrored the reaction of many and said, “you have made the while nation proud.”

Chief selector Muhammad Wasim also took to Twitter on the occasion and congratulated the players for winning the prestigious awards.

Babar Azam shared a picture of Afridi and Rizwan and wished them lots of success.

Cricket commentator Aatif Nawaz shared a picture, depicting Pakistan’s domination at the ICC awards.

“In the 17 Year history of the ICC Awards, Pakistan had won 3 of the main honours. This year alone, Pakistan have won an additional 4,” said Nawaz in another tweet.

Some other players who secured the ICC award 2021 included England’s Joe Root, who won test cricketer of the year. The umpire of the year award went to South African Marais Erasmus.

In the women’s category, the cricketer of the year award was won by India’s opener Smriti Mandhana. Moreover, South Africa’s Lizelle Lee secured the one-day honours and England’s Tammy Beaumont took home the T20 cricketer of the year award.