Aaj News

Vote on no-trust motion against deputy speaker NA to be held on Saturday

The Assembly Secretariat issues a five-point agenda for tomorrow's National Assembly session
Updated 15 Apr, 2022 08:15pm
File photo
File photo

Minutes after former prime minister and Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) leader Raja Pervaiz Ashraf elected Speaker National Assembly unopposed, a session of the Lower House of the Parliament has been summoned on Saturday at 12 noon.

The Assembly Secretariat has issued a five-point agenda for tomorrow's National Assembly session in which a no-confidence motion against Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri will be voted on.

The agenda of the meeting also includes the election of a new Speaker of Parliament while the newly elected Speaker will also take oath during the session.

On Wednesday, in a bid to delay the election of the speaker, acting Speaker Qasim Suri, while using his special powers, adjourned the meeting on April 16 and called a meeting on April 22.

It may be recalled that on April 8, a no-confidence motion was also filed by the United Opposition against Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri.

Earlier in the previous session of the National Assembly, Speaker Asad Qaiser had tendered his resignation amid an impasse over a parliamentary vote to oust the then Prime Minister Imran Khan.

After announcing the resignation, he asked Ayaz Sadiq of PML-N to chair the proceedings, who then conducted the proceedings.

National Assembly

no trust move

Qasim Khan Suri

deputy speaker

Comments are closed on this story.

مقبول ترین