Aaj.tv Logo

PML-N leader Hamza Shehbaz has been elected as the Punjab chief minister as PML-Q and PTI lawmakers boycotted proceedings in the controversial Punjab Assembly session that was marred by violence and delays.

Deputy Speaker Dost Muhammad Mazari announced the results following a tumultuous session saw government MPAs attacking him, while hte government's chief minister candidate Pervez Elahi ending up bruised and battered in an altercation with opposition lawmakers.

Mazari, annoncing the results, stated that Hamza Shehbaz bagged 197 votes in the 371-seat Punjab Assembly, while Pervez Elahi received no votes due to PTI and PML-Q lawmakers opting to stay away from the session.