Aaj News

PTI becomes largest party in Punjab

Elahi stands good chance to become CM
Updated 18 Jul, 2022 01:20pm

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has won 15 out of 20 seats in the Punjab by-election, putting on a strong show in Lahore, which was otherwise known as a rival PML-N stronghold.

The PML-N fielded four successful candidates.

Punjab Assembly
Punjab Assembly

Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi now has clear chances of becoming the Chief Minister of Punjab. After winning fifteen more seats, the PML-Q and PTI’s total has increased to 188 and the PML-N and its allies have 77 seats in the Punjab Assembly.

Currently, the PTI has 178 members and PML-Q has 10 seats. PTI’s candidate for chief minister Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi would thus get 188 votes while the PML-N had 164 members, two of whom have resigned. The Speaker has accepted his resignation, but the Election Commission has not yet de-notified him.

If the resignations are accepted before July 22, then the number of PML-N members will become 162 and after adding the four new seats won in the by-elections, its total will go to 166. The PPP has 7 and Rah-e-Haq has one. By adding the four new independent MPAs, the total number becomes 178.

This means that there is no ostensible obstacle to Chaudhry Pervez Elahi becoming CM of Punjab but there is also the possibility that 4 independent members who supported Hamza Shahbaz as Chief Minister will vote for Chaudhry Pervez.

Chaudhry Pervez Elahi could become CM with 194 votes

Constituency Winner (unofficial) Party
PP 07 Rawalpindi Raja Saghir PML-N
PP 83 Khushab Hasan Aslam PTI
PP 90 Bhakkar Irfanullah Niazi PTI
PP 97 Faisalabad Ali Afzal Sahi PTI
PP 125 Jhang Muhammad Azam Chela PTI
PP 127 Jhang Mahar Nawaz Bharwana PTI
PP 140 Sheikhupura Khurram Shahzad PTI
PP 158 Lahore Mian Akram Usman PTI
PP 167 Lahore Shabbir Ahmad Gujjar PTI
PP 168 Lahore Asad Ali Khokhar PML-N
PP 170 Lahore Zaheer Abbas PTI
PP 202 Sahiwal Ghulam Sarwar PTI
PP 217 Multan Makhdoom Zain Qureshi PTI
PP 224 Lodhran Muhammad Amir Iqbal PTI
PP 228 Lodhran Izzat Javaid Khan PTI
PP 237 Bahawalnagar Fida Hussain PML-N
PP 272 Muzaffargarh Moazzam Ali Khan PTI
PP 273 Muzaffargarh Sibtain Raza PMl-N
PP 282 Layyah Pir Rafiuddin Indep
PP 288 DG Khan Saifuddin Khosa PTI


Punjab by-elections

Comments are closed on this story.