Aaj.tv Logo

Former prime minister and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairperson Imran Khan Friday announced that he will contest the election from all 9 constituencies of the National Assembly in the by-election.

According to the reports, Imran Khan announced his decision in this regard in a meeting with senior journalists at his Bani Gala residence, saying that he would not leave the field empty for opponents.

Earlier on July 29, the Speaker National Assembly accepted the resignations of 9 PTI members of the National Assembly, but they also included the resignations of Shireen Mazari and Shandana Gulzar, who were elected on special seats.

The National Assembly spokesperson had said that the speaker accepted the resignations under Clause (1) of Article 64 of the Constitution of Pakistan after the PTI members of the National Assembly resigned from their seats on April 11, 2022.

Earlier today, the Election Commission of Pakistan scheduled the by-election on nine NA seats on September 25.

The polls will be held for NA-22 Mardan-III, NA-24 Charsadda-II, NA-31 Peshawar-V, NA-45 Kurram-I, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II, NA-237 Malir-II, NA-239 Korangi Karachi-I, NA-246 Karachi South-I.

The election commission in its notification issued said that the candidates participating in the by-elections of these constituencies can submit their nomination papers from August 10 to 13.

The documents will be verified on August 17, and the polling for the by-election will be held on September 25, it said.