Aaj.tv Logo

Tharparkar: Miscreants set ablaze a polling station in NA-221 Tharparkar constituency, destroying equipment in the polling station.

During the by-election in NA-221 Tharparkar constituency, miscreants entered the polling station in Qaisar Simon and set the polling station on fire.

The fire engulfed the polling station. Police and Rangers reached the spot after the incident.

Police arrested three persons including Amanullah Simon of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). The arrested persons were shifted to the police station while the polling process was affected by the fire.

Earlier today, polling for by-election in NA-221 Tharparkar constituency began. The NA-221 constituency fell vacant after Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) MNA Pir Noor Muhammad Gilani lost his life due to coronavirus in December 2020.

318 polling stations have been established for the voting process among which, 95 have been declared sensitive.

A tough contest is expected between PPP candidate Mir Ali Shah Gilani and PTI candidate Nizamuddin Rahimoon.